My latest addiction

12 Jul

Have you ever become addicted to something before you actually participated in that activity? 

I know it sounds strange, but I have recently developed a new addiction that is taking over my thoughts…photography.  Yes, I’ve taken pictures before but not anything I would actually consider photography (I mean really, would you consider using a crappy point-and-shoot that takes blurry pictures participating in photography?).  I’ve been mesmerized by pictures my entire life, but with my need to be creative I’ve decided that spending hours browsing through old family photographs isn’t enough…I want to create pictures! 

Now that I’m older and have a digital point-and-shoot, I’m ready to learn more about photography.  I’m ready to quit taking blurry pictures and start taking beautiful, brightly colored pictures of the things I create or the things that inspire me.  After doing a little bit of reading, I’ve already decided that I won’t be quite as happy with my little point-and-shoot and want the real deal…but the frugal girl in me knows that the DSLR of my dreams will have to wait.

P.S. If you know of anywhere I could get a inexpensive, used DSLR in decent shape…please contact me!  I’m scouring CraigsList daily and searching frantically for one because I can’t stop thinking about it!

Any photography tips or tricks for an aspiring shutterbug?  If you have an recommendations on cameras, sites with information or DIY photography items…please share them!  I would love to make this not-so-frugal activity a little more frugal with some DIY accessories, and I’m sure other frugal shutterbugs would love to save a little money too.

5 Responses to “My latest addiction”

  1. photographyfree4all July 12, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    Welcome to the club! It’s easy to become addicted. I just bought a Canon 50D. After about 2 months of research, I discovered everyone has their preference. But the Nikon and Canon seem to be the most preferred. It really depends on what you want tp shoot and who you talk to. I went to a camera shop that let me try each one. That helped me decide. Good luck.

    • Simply DIYgal July 12, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

      Thanks. While I’m reading up on the basics (and specifics), I’m hoping to research some cameras too. I know it will be a while before I can buy even a used one, so I’ll just toy with the manual features of mine (and maybe J’s Canon DSLR, when he’s not toying with it).

      We’ve got a camera shop here, but the are pretty dang expensive compared to the other stores. I might at least pick their brain for info and test them out there.

  2. Brooke July 12, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    You aren’t the only one, chica.
    I’ve had my dSLR for 2 years now (I think?). And it has been quite fun to actual know what the heck I’m doing. I do use my point-and-shoot quite often though; understanding what it can and can’t do makes it much more fun.
    I say keep looking in Craig’s List; a lot of people purchase dSLR cameras and realize after the fact it’s too much camera. And eBay – a friend got a stellar deal with the camera coming with two additional lenses. Or visit your local photo-shop; they may sell you a floor model or returned body for less.
    And that’s another thing – skip the kit and purchase just the body. Then you can decide on what lens you want because the kit lens usually isn’t as nice.
    Good luck in the land of the view finder!

    • Simply DIYgal July 12, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

      Thanks for the help and the tip about kit lenses! I hadn’t even considered checking for deals on floor models or a returned body.

  3. Kristen@TheFrugalGirl July 13, 2010 at 6:05 am #

    I have a number of photography tips on my blog that don’t require a camera upgrade (though I do shoot with an SLR) http://www.thefrugalgirl.com/?cat=92 Maybe they’ll be helpful for you as you save for a new camera.

    I started out with a Canon Rebel EOS body, and my most favorite lens is my 50mm 1.4…totally rockin’ lens!

Leave a Reply

